More Silly Weird Dreams

Things have been quiet on the dream front for a while, and I’ve been glad of it.  After the scary weird stuff from the end of last year, it’s been kinda nice to just black out when I go to sleep.  This last week or so, though, I’ve had some more silly and weird celebrity dreams.  Silly and weird are much better than scary and weird, so for the record: some of the Torchwood boys showed up, Keanu caused a big problem, and Adam Baldwin pulled a John Casey. Then there’s one that’s just weird.

First dream: actually a sequence of several dreams.

Part I: I’m in a theater.  I’m standing in the center aisle behind the director, who is standing there with the script in his hand.  There are a few people scattered in the front row, so I’m assuming it’s a read-through, but I don’t remember seeing anyone on the stage.  The director turns slightly, and I see it’s Gareth David-Lloyd; he’s grown his hair and beard out again and looks distracted.

Part 2: I’m walking through the mall with several women.  I notice most of the women who are walking toward me are wearing glasses, and I think that’s a pretty high percentage.  Everyone is looking very snooty and looking me up and down.  Everyone is also talking with a London accent, but the mall looks a lot like the one in downtown Toronto (I think it’s called Eaton, isn’t it?  It’s been eight years since I’ve been to Toronto).  There’s a teenage girl who is with us and who is walking a few feet ahead of us; she’s chattering about celebrity gossip she’s read in the tabs and says over her shoulder to us “Katy Perry and Russell Brand, you know it’s not going to last.”  I’m walking next to an older lady with salt and pepper hair, and she stops at a store entrance where there is a long table with a display of lovely, brightly colored silk scarves.  She picks one up and sees the tag is GBP 3000 and drops it as if it’s on fire.  “My God,” she says and her eyes get wide.  The saleslady is standing there and is looking at her askance.  I look at the woman, amused, and think, “For heaven’s sake, just because it’s expensive, it doesn’t mean you can’t look.”  I try to give her time to pull herself together by picking up a scarf and telling the clerk how lovely it is.  During the dream I think it really is lovely, but in retrospect, I don’t know why I thought it was.  It was 70s retro colors, primarily olive green, but it had an interesting 70s style design on it of leaves, but in the lower left corner there’s a symbolic representation of a rabbit inside a hollow target-like circle.  Both the circle and rabbit are in olive green as well.  I’m looking bemusedly at the rabbit as I’m talking to the clerk and thinking it means something, but I’m not sure what.

Part 3: I’m back in the theater.  The people in the seats are gone, but Tom Price is walking up and down one of the side aisles wildly gesticulating and screaming and yelling.  I can’t make out what he’s saying; he’s just mad as hell.  I notice Gareth is sitting on the edge of the stage and looks devastated.  I walk up to the stage and pull myself up to sit next to him.  I ask him what happened.  He hands me a newspaper.  It’s open to the entertainment section, and there’s a review of whatever performance they’ve just done.  It’s particularly vicious, but the only line I remember is the line “that rubbish Welshman Tom Price.”  I think, “Well, we know why Tom is furious; that’s pretty rude.”  I feel bad about the review, and I put my arm around Gareth and give him a hug.  “Oh, sweetie,” I say, “It’s just a critic.  They’re paid to be assholes.”

Part 4: I’m in my car leaving the theater and am stopped at a sign, getting ready to merge onto a roundabout.  Again, something tells me it’s London, but I’m driving on the right side of the road.  Into the intersection, right in front of me, walks Keanu Reeves, and he stops, right in front of my windshield and just stands there.  People are gawking and honking at him. He’s standing there as if he’s dazed and doesn’t know where he is. I’m rummaging around in my shoulder bag for my digital camera, and then I’m trying to get a picture of him through the windshield.  I’m having a hard time getting the zoom to work.  Then I hear screaming, and screeching, and I look into the rear view mirror just in time to see a wreck–and of course the cars slide into me (residual anxiety from the wreck; I’m still jumpy driving, and it’s nearly been a month).

Dream 2: I come out of a bathroom in a hotel suite into the lounge area.  Over by the door, this time it’s Kai Owen walking back and forth screaming and waving his arms around.  I’m trying to make out what he’s saying when out of nowhere Gareth appears with a pair of shoes.  “Here,” he says, holding them out to me as if he’s presenting me something on a silver platter, “Hurry up and put them on.”  They’re topsiders, and I look at him, and then look at the little black dress I have on.  He waves them at me and says “Come on.” I grab them from him. Then the alarm went off and I woke up.

Dream 3:  I’m at a University, but it’s not one I’ve ever visited.  It looks very Ivy League, old stone and brick buildings and ivy-covered walls.  There are hordes of armed FBI teeming through the corridors.  My friends and I want to teem too, so they get us in the middle of the horde and tell us to keep our heads down.  The guy I’m next to–Adam Baldwin dressed as Casey.

Then I go outside.  It looks like an outdoor mall.  I go down a set of concrete steps and turn right–I’m looking for the elevator.  I go to the left–dead end.  I start to my right–there’s a giant picture of Gordon Ramsay.  I think, “I don’t want to be in Hell’s Kitchen!” I notice that there is a long corridor, so I start to go down it.  I get to the elevator and the doors open to go up. I get on–and there’s Gareth Lloyd.  I look at him startled, and he looks at me equally startled–and then the alarm goes off.

Dream 4: I’m in the corridor of my old elementary school.  One of my colleagues is talking to another of my colleagues, trying to convince him to go on a road trip with him.  Then the sirens go off.  We go down a flight of stairs, and I lose track of them.  I’m in an underground vault built in the library where they keep the really “important” stuff.  There’s an entire wall of vinyls there, and someone pulls one out and tells me it’s really rare, but I don’t remember what the album was, just that it was from the 60s. (symbolic of some kind of “records,” Akashic maybe?).

As I’m nudging my way past people, I notice there’s a door with the word GOTH on it (not Gothic–Goth).  I go through, and the first thing I notice is that there are tarot cards.  They have a display of Thoth cards, and I’m admiring the coloring of the cards.  I notice that they have a display of tribal jewelry made out of whale bones and teeth.  There are dots and dashes painted on them like Morse code, but I don’t know Morse code.

Leave a comment